ECO: Encyclopædia of Controversial Occurrences

Talk about Forum Mafia feedback, suggestions, etc here.

Moderators: Metrion, FM Game Moderators

ECO: Encyclopædia of Controversial Occurrences

Postby moonbird » Sun May 06, 2018 11:52 am

ECO: Encyclopædia of Controversial Occurrences
Below are common questions about how certain roles function or interact. Be sure to read the Opening Post (OP) of the game you are playing in case their rulings differ from the ECO. Otherwise, you may assume ECO rulings are in play.

Town
    Protective
    Spoiler:

      Doctor
      Spoiler:
        Do doctors heal one attack or all of them? (Healed target would die if both Godfather and Serial Killer attack)
        • Doctors heal all attacks.
        Are attackers informed of immunity if they hit a healed target that is Immune?
        • Yes, being healed occurs after being attacked. Thus, attackers are informed of immunity.
        If two Doctors heal the same person who is attacked, what happens?
        • Both doctors receive a notification.
        • The attacked target is only notified of a single heal.
        Which takes priority when protecting the same target?
        • Bodyguard > Marshal > Botanist Plants > Doctor
        • A Doctor who heals a player with a Botanist Plant on them will still receive a heal notification. The Botanist's plants will wilt.


      Bodyguard
      Spoiler:
        Do bodyguards get a death note?
        • Yes, if death notes are in play.
        If the Bodyguard successfully guards someone, can they be healed by a Doctor?
        • No.
        If a killing role attacks someone who is guarded, can they be healed by a Doctor?
        • Yes.
        Which takes priority when protecting the same target?
        • Bodyguard > Marshal > Botanist Plants > Doctor
        • A Doctor who heals a player with a Botanist Plant on them will still receive a heal notification. The Botanist's plants will wilt.
        If multiple killing roles attack someone who is guarded (sk and mafia, arsonist and sk, mafia and arson, etc), which will die?
        • Vigilante > Firebrand > Double > Mafia > Serial Killer > Arsonist > Detenator
        If a Bomber/Stalker/Detonator/Arsonist self visit, and the Bodyguard is protecting them, will they die?
        • If the Arsonist is visiting to self ignite, the bodyguard will not kill them. The ignition will go through.
        • If the role is a Detonator self visiting to place a detonator, or a Bomber visiting to self fuse, then the bodyguard will fight them off. Both they and the bodyguard will die.


      Marshal
      Spoiler:
        If a Marshal chooses to protect an Escort, and a Witch forces said Escort onto the Marshal, what happens?
        • The Witch would be scared off by the Marshal.
        Which takes priority when protecting the same target?
        • Bodyguard > Marshal > Botanist Plants > Doctor
        • A Doctor who heals a player with a Botanist Plant on them will still receive a heal notification. The Botanist's plants will wilt.
        If multiple roles target someone who is protected by a marshal (sk and mafia, arsonist and sk, mafia and arson, etc), which will be scared away?
        • Disguiser > Framer > Prankster > Janitor > Escort > Consort > Witch > Arsonist > Detenator > Double > Vigilante > Firebrand > Mafia Kill > Serial Killer (RNG decides between duplicates)
        If a malicious person is scared by a Marshal, will a Lookout see the scared players visit?
        • No.
        If a Bomber/Stalker/Detonator/Arsonist self visit, and the Marshal is protecting them, what will occur?
        • If the Arsonist is visiting to self ignite, the Marshal will not scare them off. The ignition will go through.
        • If the role is a Detonator self visiting to place a detonator, or a Bomber visiting to self fuse, then the Marshal will scare them off.


      Botanist Spoiler:
        Which takes priority when protecting the same target?
        • Bodyguard > Marshal > Botanist Plants > Doctor
        • A Doctor who heals a player with a Botanist Plant on them will still receive a heal notification. The Botanist's plants will wilt.
        If a member of the ring is night immune and is attacked, what occurs?
        • The plant-based immunity fades.
        • If the player's inherent immunity is [x] shot, only the plant based immunity fades.
        What if multiple planted people are attacked at the same time?
        • All will survive.
        • All the planted plants will wilt.


    Investigative
    Spoiler:

      Lookout
      Spoiler:
        If a malicious person is scared by a Marshal, will a Lookout see the scared players visit?
        • No.
        If a Lookout sees no one visit, are they informed in their day start PM?
        • Game moderator's choice.
        • However, typically no.


      Spy
      Spoiler:
        If the Spy is roleblocked, will they still see who the mafia visits at night?
        • No.
        If a mafia member is scared by a Marshal, will the Spy see their visit?
        • No.


    Support
    Spoiler:

      Escort
      Spoiler:
        If the Escort roleblocks a Witch or other roleblock-immune role, will the Escort be informed that their roleblock has failed?
        • No.
        If the Escort roleblocks a Witch or other roleblock-immune role, will the target be informed that someone attempted to roleblock them?
        • Yes.
        If you are roleblocked twice in the same night, will you get the "You were roleblocked" message twice?
        • Yes.


      Transporter
      Spoiler:
        Can death by Jester-haunting be transported to another player?
        • No.
        What if a transporter makes an Arsonist target themself?
        • The Arsonist will ignite.


    Killing
    Spoiler:

      Veteran
      Spoiler:
        Do alerts prevent transporting the Veteran?
        • No.


      Firebrand
      Spoiler:
        Can the Arsonist clean off gas if they were doused by a Firebrand?
        • Yes.
        If a Firebrand is witched to themselves as to ignite, what will occur if they try to ignite in the future?
        • They will be informed by the mod that they cannot ignite.
        • They may only check if they can ignite during a phase where they otherwise could.


    Power
    Spoiler:

      Retributionist
      Spoiler:
        If a witch controls the Retributionist onto a target meant to die the same night:
        • The target meant to die will have their will/role shown, but then instantly revived.
        • Only members of the town can be revived.
        Can cleaned roles be revived?
        • Yes, if they are town.
        Are revived players still doused if they were doused before they died?
        • Yes, unless they were ignited previously.
        Does reviving a Jailor or Vigilante refill their charges and/or remove guilt?
        • The player will still have the same number of charges left as when they died.
        • Guilt is removed.


      Jailor
      Spoiler:
        If an Underboss and a Jailor target each other or the same player, who has priority?
        • Jailor.


      Mayor
      Spoiler:
        What happens when a non-mayor reveals?
        • Metrion: Their rolecard is exchanged for that of the Mayor's, and they become the new Mayor.
        • TrueGent: The player is vanillaized for attempting to outplay the system.
        • Melanora: Babynora eats you.
        • Swordsworth: Did you vote for them in November?
        • Santa07: The forums get deleted, and this time it wasn't Nelly's fault.
        • moonbird: It forces a re-roll, of course.
        • Schultz128: Who actually runs Power Roles?
        • ZSSDistortion: They're banned for electoral fraud.
User avatar
moonbird
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:39 am
Location: drowning (pacific time)

ECO: Encyclopædia of Controversial Occurrences

Postby moonbird » Sun May 06, 2018 11:53 am

Mafia
    General
    Spoiler: Can you choose to attack mafia at night?
    • Yes, as long as there's an explanation and consent from the entire mafia and the moderator.


    Head Spoiler:

      Underboss Spoiler:
        If an Underboss and a Jailor target each other or the same player, who has priority?
        • The Jailor.


    Support Spoiler:

      Consort
      Spoiler:
        If the consort carries out the tactical kill, is it still roleblock immune?
        • No.
        Refer to Escort for other information


    Deception
    Spoiler:

      Janitor
      Spoiler:
        Can the Janitor choose to clean them self at night?
        • Yes.
        Can cleaned roles be remembered by an Amnesiac?
        • Yes.
        Can cleaned roles be revived by a Retributionist?
        • Yes, if they are town.
        What happens if a janitor successfully cleans a Phantom or Shade who used a ritual?
        • The Janitor's charge is consumed.
        • Otherwise, nothing occurs.


      Disguiser
      Spoiler:
        When controlled by a witch, will the Disguiser still disguise?
        • The Disguiser's second target will be the witch's victim target.


      Prankster
      Spoiler:
        What happens if you prank a roleblocked player who attempted to use a limited ability (Vig bullet, doc self heal, etc.) that they slept peacefully?
        • They may only check how many shots of an ability they have during a phase in which they can use it.


    Espionage Spoiler:

      Traitor Spoiler:
        What if the Traitor rumages through a Mafioso's belongings, and the Mafioso has shadowed the Godfather?
        • The traitor will not be informed what occurred the night of the shadowing.
        How is rummaging processed?
        • Rummaging is not a visiting action, and it cannot be affected by redirects or roleblocks.
        • It is processed immediately, not at the end of the night. Results are immediate.
User avatar
moonbird
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:39 am
Location: drowning (pacific time)

ECO: Encyclopædia of Controversial Occurrences

Postby moonbird » Sun May 06, 2018 11:53 am

Neutrals
    Killing
    Spoiler:

      Serial Killer
      Spoiler:
        Can you choose to visit yourself?
        • Yes.


      Detenator
      Spoiler:
        If one bomb blows up, do all blow up?
        • Yes.
        Do Detenator bombs remain after the Detenator dies?
        • Yes.
        If a Detenator places a bomb on a player other than themselves, and that player visits another bombed player, what occurs?
        • The bomb will go off.
        • Bombs are typically placed before the bomber player visits, as a note of action resolution.


      Arsonist
      Spoiler:
        If a transporter makes you target yourself:
        • You will ignite.
        If a witch makes an Arsonist target them self:
        • The Arsonist ignites.
        Are revived players still doused if they were doused before they died?
        • Yes, unless they were previously ignited.
        If you are doused twice in the same night, will you get the "You were doused" message twice?
        • Yes.
        Can the Arsonist clean off gas if they were doused by a Firebrand?
        • Yes.


      Stalker
      Spoiler:
        Can you choose to visit yourself?
        • Yes.


    Evil
    Spoiler:

      Bomber
      Spoiler:
        After a fuse has been lit, can the Bomber keep visiting to place more fuses?
        • Yes.
        Can you choose to visit yourself?
        • Yes.
        List of Fuse Triggers
        • Fuse Unharmed:
            Not attacked
            Attacked in jail
            BodyGuard fights off one attacker
            Executed by Jailor
            Burned by Arsonist
            Stalked by Stalker
            Second Bomber Fuse
            Lynch
        • Broken Fuse:
            Shot by the Mafia
            Shot by Vigilante
            Shot by Veteran
            Attacked by BodyGuard
            Killed protecting your target
            Stabbed by a Serial Killer
            Double attacks a target
            Doused by an Arsonist
            Doctor heals while shot by Mafia
            Doctor heals while shot by Veteran
            Doctor heals while shot by Vigilante
            Doctor heals while stabbed by Serial Killer
            Doctor heals while doused by an Arsonist
            Suicide by Jester
            Suicide by Stalker
            Suicide by Guilt
            Attacked while wearing a vest


      Jester
      Spoiler:
        Can a Jester have a death note?
        • Yes, if they are in play.
        Can death by Jester-haunting be transported to another player?
        • No.
        Can a Jester choose not to haunt? How is it resolved if they choose not to?
        • A Jester must haunt. If a Jester does not choose a target, RNG will decide and the Jester loses.


      Executioner
      Spoiler:
        If your target is lynched after you are dead:
        • The Executioner still loses.


      Witch
      Spoiler:
        If a witch makes a Veteran target them self:
        • The Witch forces an alert should the Veteran still have any, killing themselves.
        If a witch makes an Arsonist target themself:
        • The Arsonist ignites.
        If a witch controls the Retributionist onto a target meant to die the same night:
        • The target meant to die will have their will/role shown, but then instantly revived. Only Town can be revived.
        When controlled by a witch, will the Disguiser still disguise?
        • The Disguiser's second target will be the Witch's victim target.
        What happens if you control a non-Visiting role to an alerting veteran?
        • The non-visiting role will be informed that they were witched.
        • Otherwise, nothing occurs.
        If the Witch attempts to control someone that is immune, will the Witch be informed their action failed?
        • No.
        If the Witch attempts to control someone that is immune, will the target be informed a Witch tried to control them?
        • Yes.


    Benign
    Spoiler:

      Double
      Spoiler:
        What happens if a Double attacks a Phantom or Shade using a Ritual?
        • The Double assumes the Phantom or Shade's role.


      Amnesiac
      Spoiler:
        Can cleaned roles be remembered?
        • Yes.


    Vampire
    Spoiler: Add it?
    Obiwan: Damn it Rick Iggy
    Arcthurus: *Thumbs up*
    Iggyvolz: YAAAAAAAAAAS
    Metrion: Iggy stahp.
    TrueGent: Iggy why. :c
    Melanora: What's a Vampire?
    Swordsworth: Only if we add Alternate Futures
    Santa07: Nice meme
    moonbird: i don't know this man
    Schultz128: Vampire for FM Mod.
    ZSSDistortion: Dew it
User avatar
moonbird
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:39 am
Location: drowning (pacific time)


Return to FM Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest